Danny Willems

Benjamin Vandewalle studied at the Royal Ballet School in Antwerp from the age of 8 to 18, graduating from Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s contemporary dance school P.A.R.T.S. in 2006.

During the ten years following graduation, he has often worked with recurring themes which he constantly approaches in different forms: from more technological dance productions such as Point of View (2011) for which cameras were attached to the bodies of the dancers, to small-scale installations in the public space for an audience of one.

Ever since his early work, ‘Perception’ has been a central focus. He creates movement – not only in the body of the dancer, but also in that of the viewer. In his work, he wishes to share new experiences and perspectives with a broad audience. Which is why, in 2012, he stepped out of the black box and into the public space.

He regularly works together with local participants, such as in the intimate installation Inter-view (2013) and the audio choreography Hear (2016).

In addition, he is involved in dance education, teaching children, amateurs, students and professionals. He has previously been a guest teacher at KASK and MUDA, created a guest choreography for Passerelle (Kortrijk) and through MUZE has worked in various primary schools in Brussels. He has worked with the Nyakaza dance course in South Africa, set up the Comfusao project in Mozambique and supported P.A.R.T.S. dance students on an exchange in Senegal.


Benjamin Vandewalle is Artist in Residence at Kaaitheater from 2017 to 2021

Benjamin Vandewalle is supported by Stichting SoAP, Maastricht

Danny Willems

Benjamin Vandewalle a été de ses 8 ans jusqu’à ses 18 ans élève au Conservatoire Royal de Danse d’Anvers. En 2006 il a obtenu son diplôme de fin d’étude au centre de formation en danse P.A.R.T.S. d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker.

Pendant les dix ans qui ont suivi son diplôme, il a travaillé autour de thèmes récurrents, qu’il fondait dans un moule nouveau à chaque nouveau projet allant de spectacles de danse à la technologie avancée comme Point of View (2011) où des caméras sont fixées sur les danseurs, à des installations intimistes dans l’espace public pour un spectateur.

Dès ses débuts, la ‘perception’ est un sujet central pour lui. Il crée du mouvement – pas uniquement dans le corps du danseur, mais également dans celui du spectateur. Il veut à travers son travail partager avec un large public de nouvelles expériences et perspectives. C’est pourquoi il est sorti du théâtre en 2012 pour investir l’espace public.

Il collabore régulièrement avec des participants locaux, comme par exemple dans cette installation intime Inter-view (2013) et la chorégraphie sonore Hear (2016).






Par ailleurs il s’intéresse à la pédagogie de la danse et donne des cours à des enfants, des amateurs, des étudiants et des professionnels. Il a été invité à enseigner au KASK (Conservatoire Royal des Beaux-Arts de Gand) et au MUDA (Centre Culturel à Evergem), a été invité en tant que chorégraphe à la Passerelle (Courtrai) et a travaillé à travers le théâtre MUZE dans différentes écoles primaires à Bruxelles. Il a également travaillé au centre de formation de danse de Nyakaza en Afrique du Sud, a développé le projet Comfusao au Mozambique et accompagné un échange P.A.R.T.S. et des étudiants en danse au Sénégal.




Benjamin Vandewalle est Artiste en Résidence au Kaaitheater (Bruxelles) de 2017 à 2021

Benjamin Vandewalle bénéficie du soutien de SoAP, Maastricht