Danny Willems

Benjamin Vandewalle (Belgium, 1983) graduated from P.A.R.T.S. in 2006. Since early on, the central theme in his work is perception. He creates movement – not only in the performer’s body but also in the spectator’s. His work is about sharing new experiences and perspectives with a large audience.

In 2012, he entered the limelight and impressed critics and the public alike with on-location performances like 'Birdwatching' and 'Walking the Line'. From 2017 until 2021, he is the artist-in-residence at the reputable Kaaitheater. With Common Ground, Benjamin harks back to the dansante character of his earlier productions.

 

 


Platform-K

Platform-K is a dance company based in Ghent; known for their artistic, rebellious, and groundbreaking creations. Platform-K brings together dancers with and without disabilities for inclusive performances. The organisation also aims to develop the talents of dancers with disabilities through contemporary dance training and residence projects. This allows them to explore how dancers with disabilities can access and influence the world of contemporary dance: In search for the artistic means to reject prejudice and break the barriers between 'I' and 'The Other'.

Danny Willems

Benjamin Vandewalle (België, 1983) a terminé ses études à P.A.R.T.S. (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) en 2006. Le thème principal de son oeuvre a toujours été la ‘perception’. Il crée le mouvement–visant non seulement le corps du danseur, mais également celui du spectateur.

En 2012, il quitte la ‘boîte noire’ pour entrer dans l’environnement public, tout en impressionnant les critiques ainsi que le grand public par des représentations sur place tels que Birdwatching et Walking The Line. Entre 2017 et 2021, il est ‘artist-in-residence’ au ‘Kaaitheater’. Avec Common Ground, Benjamin reprend le style dansant de son oeuvre antérieure. 

Platform-K

Platform-K est une compagnie de danse gantoise qui s’engage à garantir des productions artistiques, rebelles et innovatrices. Platform-K réunit des personnes handicapés et des artistes réguliers pour créer des spectacles de danse inclusives. En assurant un entraînement actuel et des ‘trajets-résidence’, l’organisation assure également la formation et le développement de danseurs professionnels avec une limitation mentale. Elle explore en même temps comment ces danseurs pourraient avoir une influence fondamentale sur le monde de la danse actuel. Une recherche d'une manière artistique pour rejeter les préjugés, mettre en question les partis-pris et, dans la mesure du possible, éliminer les barrières entre ‘moi et l’autre’.