© Renato Mangolin© Renato Mangolin© Damir Zizec© Damir Zizec

PERFORMANCE — Let’s not anymore feign surprise by estrangement. Start here, before familiarity takes hold with knots of misrecognition. Circumnavigating the cautious understanding of the stranger, since there is no understanding, we look to the compass.

Watch the needle waver and drift off course; magnetic deviation in nearness to the desirable. Wet with tears or soaked by storms, another wave brings another sailor and thoughts of amorality. Drying out will mark the passage of time or might bring winds to weather the storm. Bring smoked fish and loads of salt for preservation. I’ll watch you eat as I have watched others before.

Inspired by Homer’s Odyssey, Aughterlony, Hrašćanec and Bozič take on the theme of alienation and confront us with the dystopia of being together in a fascinating, dark landscape of nautical images and mystical figures. Ironically, the epic poem of the sea and maritime adventures has now turned into a narrative of loneliness. It can be read both as a personal story in an infinite universe and as a parable of a new Europe. The repetition of mysterious voyages and the inevitability of desperate shipwrecks: a proof that we are essentially alone and are always perceived as strangers on new shores. 

contact ART HAPPENS


IN CO-CREATION WITH 
PETRA HRAŠCANEC (HR)
& SAŠA BOŽIC (HR)

 


CREDITS


Created by: Simone Aughterlony, Petra Hrašcanec, Saša Božic
Performed by: Simone Aughterlony, Petra Hrašcanec
Dramaturgy: Saša Božic
Music: Hahn Rowe
Set and costume design: Ana Savic-Gecan
Light design: Bruno Pocheron, Miljenko Bengez

Produced by: 21:21
Co-produced by: Simone Aughterlony, Verein für Allgemeines Wohl, Studentski centar u Zagrebu – Kultura promjene – Teatar &TD via apap-Performing Europe 2020, International Coproduction Fund of the Goethe-Institut
Support by: City of Zagreb, Ministry of Culture Croatia, International co-production fund Goethe-Institute, Stadt Zürich Kultur, Kanton Zürich Fachstelle Kultur, Swiss artistic fund Pro Helvetia and Creative Europe Program

© Renato Mangolin© Renato Mangolin© Damir Zizec© Damir Zizec

PERFORMANCE — «Ne feignons plus d'être surpris par l’aliénation. Commencez ici, avant que la familiarité ne s'installe avec des nœuds de méconnaissance. Naviguant autour de la compréhension de l'étranger, prudente puisqu'il n'y a pas de compréhension, nous regardons la boussole.

Observez l'aiguille vaciller et dévier de son cap; déviation magnétique dans la proximité du désirable. Mouillée de larmes ou trempée par les tempêtes, une autre vague amène un autre marin et des pensées d'amoralité. L'assèchement marquera le passage du temps ou pourrait faire souffler des vents pour affronter la tempête. Apportez du poisson fumé et beaucoup de sel pour la conservation. Je vous regarderai manger comme j'ai déjà regardé d'autres personnes.»

Inspirés par l'Odyssée d'Homère, Aughterlony, Hrašćanec et Bozič abordent le thème de l'aliénation et nous confrontent à la dystopie d'être ensemble dans un paysage fascinant et sombre d'images marines et de figures mystiques. Ironiquement, le poème épique sur la mer et les aventures maritimes s'est mué en un récit sur la solitude qui peut être lu à la fois comme une histoire personnelle dans un univers infini et comme une parabole d'une nouvelle Europe. La répétition de voyages mystérieux et l'inévitabilité de naufrages désespérés: une preuve que nous sommes essentiellement seuls et toujours perçus comme des étrangers sur de nouvelles côtes. 

contact ART HAPPENS

 

EN COCRÉATION AVEC
PETRA HRAŠCANEC (HR)
& SAŠA BOŽIC (HR)

 

CREDITS

Création : Simone Aughterlony, Petra Hrašcanec, Saša Božic
Interprétation : Simone Aughterlony, Petra Hrašcanec
Dramaturgie : Saša Božic
Musique : Hahn Rowe
Décor et costumes : Ana Savic-Gecan
Lumières: Bruno Pocheron, Miljenko Bengez

Production: 21:21
Coproduction : Simone Aughterlony, Verein für Allgemeines Wohl, Studentski centar u Zagrebu – Kultura promjene – Teatar &TD via apap-Performing Europe 2020, International Coproduction Fund of the Goethe-Institut
Support : City of Zagreb, Ministry of Culture Croatia, International co-production fund Goethe-Institute, Stadt Zürich Kultur, Kanton Zürich Fachstelle Kultur, Swiss artistic fund Pro Helvetia and Creative Europe Program