© Jorge León© Jorge León© Jorge León© Jorge León

INSTALLATION/PERFORMANCE — «Maintaining Stranger» proposes an artificially cultivated, rocky desert as a designated cruising zone for strange encounters. Capitalizing on the desert as a space to face one’s insignificance allows for the perfect abandon, to measure up against the immeasurable.

A collection of secondary characters, as if selected from different casts yet all iconic in their own way, scaffold intimacies that hold no claim on future proximity. Without home, script or history the strangers here actively engage beyond colonizing, they maintain a process of de-possessing while mining the other.

Unravelling the notion of the stranger from a foreign concept to a proximal nature this ‘community of strangers’ are still gathered with the pains and joys of togetherness but maybe not tethered. «Maintaining Stranger» tracks the weather and the weathered, drifts and gaps between people where intimacy is most intensely felt. Love is nothing personal, difference always is.

contact ART HAPPENS

CREDITS

Concept: Simone Aughterlony
Performance: Simone Aughterlony, Niall Noel Jones, Nic Lloyd, Mathias Ringgenberg, Hahn Rowe, Teresa Vittucci
Sculptures Design: Christopher Füllemann
Text: Jen Rosenblit and performers
Music: Hahn Rowe
Dramaturgical Advice: Jorge León, Saša Božić, Jen Rosenblit
Costume Design: Eloïse Santschi

Production: Verein für allgemeines Wohl / Simone Aughterlony
Co-production: Gessnerallee Zürich, Arsenic – Contemporary Performing Arts Center, Lausanne, HAU Hebbel am Ufer

Full credits

© Jorge León© Jorge León

INSTALLATION/PERFORMANCE — «Maintaining Stranger» propose un désert rocheux cultivé artificiellement comme zone de croisière désignée pour d’étranges rencontres. Miser sur le désert comme un espace pour affronter sa propre insignifiance permet l'abandon parfait pour se mesurer à l'incommensurable.

Les personnages secondaires, qui semblent tous provenir de pièces différentes, mais tous iconiques à leur manière, échafaudent des intimités qui n'ont aucune prétention sur une future proximité. Sans chez-soi, scénario ou histoire, les étrangers ici s'engagent activement au-delà de la colonisation, ils maintiennent un processus de dépossession tout en minant l'autre.

En faisant passer la notion de l’étranger, d’une notion abstraite à une notion proximale, cette «communauté d'étrangers» toujours avec les douleurs et les joies d'être ensemble, mais potentiellement sans attaches. «Maintaining Stranger» suit le temps et l’érosion, les dérives et les écarts entre les individus là où l'intimité se fait le plus intensément sentir. L'amour n'a rien de personnel, la différence l'est toujours.

contact ART HAPPENS

CREDITS

Création : Simone Aughterlony
Interprétation : Simone Aughterlony, Niall Jones, Nic Lloyd, Mathias Ringgenberg, Hahn Rowe, Teresa Vittucci
Décor : Christopher Füllemann
Musique: Hahn Rowe
Écriture: Jen Rosenblit
Dramaturgie : Jorge León, Saša Božić, Jen Rosenblit
Lumières : Florian Bach

Co-production : Gessnerallee Zürich, Arsenic – Contemporary Performing Arts Center, Lausanne, HAU Hebbel am Ufer
Merci à : Dampfzentrale Bern
Support : City of Zurich, Canton of Zurich Fachstelle Kultur und Pro Helvetia - Swiss Cultural Foundation, Fondation, Nestlé pour l´Art, Kulturfonds der Société Suisse des Auteurs