© Erwan Fichou© Erwan Fichou© Erwan Fichou

PERFORMANCE — With Affordable Solution for Better Living, visual artist Théo Mercier and choreographer Steven Michel want to break the taboo of a civilization that is restricted by its well-doing. In a spotless and untainted room, a Kallax, the beacon of furniture giant Ikea, will tower in the middle. The Kallax is slightly less famous than the Billy, but actually more impressive and elegant and it is the perfect example of the ‘suited for everyone’ trend.

Whilst transforming this commercial system into a choreography, the two artists want to question the issues of standardized bodies, fixed paths, and the illusions of freedom disseminated by corporate powers. How does this company exhibit the consumer’s body? Is the familiar home environment really a place not submitted to these bigger powers? Or is it staged by a multinational, like so many public spaces?

In three acts, Affordable Solution for Better Living, deconstructs this economic model and explains the certainties and the defects of an almost perfect human being. As half centaur, half man, half furniture, he does his interior decorating, which to him is very unique, but absurdly enough, very similar to everyone else’s. 

contact ART HAPPENS








 

 

In all beauty – like crescendo – man and space become a whole. The world, civilized, in harmony, but sometimes cold, bursts and twists and while doing so reveals its darker side as well as its human side. And what if, by being too eager to decorate the interior, one destroys his own interiority?


CREDITS
Concept, choreography and scenography:
Théo Mercier and Steven Michel
Performance:
Steven Michel (in progress)
Production: 
CDN Nanterre-Amandiers, apap - Performing Europe 2020 - with the support of Programme Culture de l’Union Européenne
Coproduction:
Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy

© Erwan Fichou© Erwan Fichou© Erwan Fichou

PERFORMANCE — Dans Affordable Solution for Better Living, l’artiste plasticien Théo Mercier et le chorégraphe Steven Michel brisent les tabous d’une société corsetée par le bien-être en dressant au centre d’un espace immaculé un totem tout à fait singulier : une Kallax ! Etagère phare du géant Ikea, moins star que la Billy, mais plus imposante et élégante. La Kallax comme symbole du « beau pour tous ».

Par cette transposition d’un système commercial en objet chorégraphique, Affordable Solution for Better Living souhaite interroger la question du corps standardisé, du parcours imposé, et d’une certaine illusion de liberté proposée par les grandes puissances commerciales. Comment l’entreprise met-elle en scène le corps du consommateur ? Le domestique est-il vraiment l’espace de la vie non-soumise ou au contraire une énième mise en scène orchestrée par une grande marque ?

En trois mouvements, Affordable Solution for Better Living démonte le modèle et déploie les certitudes et les errances d’un homme presque parfait aux contours policés. Un centaure mi-homme mi-meuble construisant sur mesure et en toute absurdité son intérieur à lui seul, unique et pourtant si semblable à tous les autres.

contact ART HAPPENS

En toute beauté, crescendo, l’homme et l’espace faisant corps, l’univers policé, harmonieux et glaçant se fissure et se tord, révélant sa part sombre tout en révélant son humanité. Et si à trop vouloir bien s’occuper de son intérieur on se détruisait de l’intérieur

 

CREDITS
Conception, chorégraphie et scénographie : Théo Mercier et Steven Michel
Interprétation : Steven Michel (en cours)
Production : CDN Nanterre-Amandiers, apap - Performing Europe 2020 - avec le soutien du Programme Culture de l’Union Européenne
Coproduction :  Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy