© Martin Argyroglo© Martin Argyroglo

PERFORMANCE — In the memory of each viewer, an artwork becomes fluid and changeable. Details are magnified, vital parts disappear, and the memory creates its own fragmentary and inward-looking pictures. Out of the movement contained in each work, and its counterpoint in the viewer's memory, this performance seeks tot create a new way of viewing art.

Real subjects, memories, details, reassembly and disassembly all combined to make what is interior become visible and empirical; and the imaginary is brought into the light of day. Between the black box of the theater and the white box of the museum, between the certainty of the real and the missteps of memory, there appears a mental space where chaos and multiplicity will either find meaning or tear themselves to pieces. 

The scenography is conceived as an array of meaningful spaces, yet free of narrative lines. This mobile picture-frame is the venue for a promenade - some corners already inhabited, others still under construction. 

La Fille du Collectionneur is a live model, just as the performer, Marlène Saldana. Her body is the starting point for this viewing, although we do not really know whether she is the primary subject of the painting, or if she will disappear, or even become its first viewer. 

contact ART HAPPENS

The other performers engage in this scenographic piece, each of them at varying degrees from reality. The fusion of roles (model, artist, viewer, critic) and the different ways an artwork can be grasped (project, creation, finished oeuvre, a memory) is presented here as a game taking the viewer out of the frontal encounter and introducting a sense of 'before and after' to the very heart of the work.

It is like putting the studio of the artist out into the open, sharing the pleasure, the joy, of what exists before being exposed to the public. 


CREDITS
Creation: Théo Mercier
Scenography, paintings and sculptures:
Théo Mercier, Arthur Hoffner
Performance: François Chaignaud, Jonathan Drillet, Harris Gkekas, Angela Laurier, Marlène Saldana
Assistant director: Florent Jacob
Drawings and story boards: Jérémy Piningre
Music: Laurent Durupt
Light Design: Eric Soyer
Costume and scenography interns: Anaïs Caulat, Juline Darde-Gervais, alice Louradour
Set building: Atelier décor, Nanterre-Amandiers
Coproduction: La Ménagerie de verre, Paris, Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy

© Martin Argyroglo© Martin Argyroglo

PERFORMANCE — La vie prolonge le temps d’une œuvre : dans la mémoire de chacun, l’œuvre devient incertaine et modulable. Des détails grossissent, des parts essentielles disparaissent. La mémoire compose donc son propre tableau, fragmentaire et introspectif. De ce mouvement contenu dans chaque œuvre et de son contrepoint mémoriel, le spectacle veut faire les médiums d’une visite d’un genre inédit.

Sujets réels, souvenirs, détails, recompositions et décompositions s’agenceront pour donner à voir et à éprouver une intériorité, un imaginaire mis à nu et au grand jour. Entre la salle noire du théâtre et la boîte blanche du musée, entre la certitude du monde réel et les faux pas de la mémoire, se dessine un espace mental où le chaos et la multiplicité parviennent parfois à trouver un sens, parfois se déchire.

La scénographie a été conçue comme autant de lieux signifiants mais non orientés narrativement. Ce cadre mobile sera l’objet d’une déambulation, certains recoins sont déjà habités, d’autres à construire.

La fille du collectionneur est modèle de nu, tout comme son interprète Marlène Saldana a été pendant très longtemps. Son corps sera le point de départ de cette visite, ne sachant plus très bien si elle est sujet premier du tableau ou appelée à disparaitre ou encore première spectatrice.

contact ART HAPPENS

Les autres interprètes seront amenés à investir l’œuvre scénographique à différents degrés de réalité. Ce télescopage entre les différentes positions qui gravitent autour d’une œuvre d’art (modèle, artiste, spectateur, critique) et ses différents modes d’appréhension (projet, création, aboutissement, souvenirs) est à prendre comme un jeu qui déplace le spectateur de sa position frontal, biaise le face à face en intégrant un avant et un après au sein même de l’œuvre.

C’est comme mettre l’atelier de l’artiste au grand jour, partager le plaisir, la joie, de ce qui existe avant d’être exposé.

CREDITS
Création :
Théo Mercier
Scénographie, tableaux et sculptures :
Théo Mercier, Arthur Hoffner
Interprétation :
François Chaignaud, Jonathan Drillet, Harris Gkekas, Angela Laurier, Marlène Saldana
Assistant à la mise en scène :
Florent Jacob
Dessins et story boards :
Jérémy Piningre
Musique :
Laurent Durupt
Création lumière :
Eric Soyer
Stagiaires costumes et scénographie :
Anaïs Caulat, Juline Darde-Gervais, Alice Louradour
Construction du décor :
Atelier décor, Nanterre-Amandiers
Coproduction :
La Ménagerie de verre, Paris, Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy