© Hesem Rahmanian, The Pets We Love, 2018. Courtesy of the artist and Gallery Isabelle van den Eynde.© Orpheas Emirzas© Orpheas Emirzas© Orpheas Emirzas

DANCE/PERFORMANCE/INSTALLATION — “It’s one thing to be named Dancer of the Year, it’s something entirely different to try and make something of it."

In the dance solo, Dancer of the Year, we see Trajal Harrell repeating gestures (as if to store them in his body); revisiting movement material and choreographic strategies from previous work; and moving through and layering emotions. In an intimate setting, he shares his labor with us, offers his dance to us, as a gift. 

Harrell created this work in response to being awarded the title of Dancer of the Year 2018 by Tanz magazine. The award leads him to question his status and identity as a dancer. What is the currency of this title? What is the value of dance, dance practice, and the knowledge it produces? What generates it? How does dance/the body internalize its history and how is it transmitted for the future? Harrell reflects on his own legacy as a choreographer/dancer, as he interrogates and re-imagines his artistic lineage, and the strategies he developed over the years for (re-)presenting and performing the self/identity. 

Harrell's speculative history allows for other bodies, identites, and voices to become part of - and unsettle - the conventionall narrative. His operations reveal hidden or under-theorized connections, across historical times, geographical distances, and cultural differences; and create provocative spaces for imagining alternative dance histories. In his current project, Harrell continues his trajectory, but introduces Tatsumi Hijikata and elements and strategies inspired by butoh into the mix. (...) His researh raised questions about the politics of performing identity and the "other,' orientalism and cultural appropriation in early modern dance, and the historical connection between dance and exoticism, eroticism, and prostitution, to name a few. 

The collection of figures, elements, and ideas expands, resulting in a very dense fabric that is impossible to unravel in a linear narrative. Each piece presents as a fascinating origamilike object - layered and marked by multiple folds, creases, and traces - presented from, and demanding, a multitude of perspectives, formats and approaches. Every performance marks but one moment in a constellation of works that continues to expand. Over time, the project accumulates more material, constructing a history and archive of its own.

Read the text of Sara Jansen for Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2019 here

 

contact ART HAPPENS

 

 



DANCER OF THE YEAR SHOP


Dancer of the Year Shop, in appearance, performs and respects the hierarchy of the economic relationships and transactions of the (art)market and observes its capitalist mode of circulation and consumption. However, through a display that recalls exhibition furniture, Harrell voluntarily establishes new meanings for these objects and the shop. He not only attributes to himself the authority of the collector by having passionately acquired some of these items, but he also endorses the role of the curator who selected, took care of and exhibited them. These shifts are taking place under the umbrella of the Dancer of the Year Shop, the simulacrum of the gallery. 

Through the process of pricing the artworks in Dancer of the Year Shop, Harrell seeks quantitative and qualitative measurements to understand the meaning of the Tanz Magazine award. He highlights how mundane objects that are emotionally meaningful and unique to the choreographer and dancer are for this reason endowed with symbolic capital as well as the capital value of the artist. No matter the instrument of maesurement, once the artwork is sold, isn't the final price determined by the weight of its loss to the artist 

Read the text of Yasmina Reggad for Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2019 here


This performative installation entitled Dancer of the Year Shop and it’s hours of operation are tailored made to each site.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

« A message so perfectly emotional that it fills you up from top to bottom and is able to materialize a moment of pure bliss. Shortly put: staggering. »
- Le VIF


CREDITS

Choreography, dance, sound and costume design
: Trajal Harrell
Dramaturgy: Sara Jansen
Production: CauseCélèbre vzw
Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Festival d'Automne (Paris), Lafayette Anticipations (Paris), ImPulsTanz Festival, BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen), Schauspielhaus Bochum, Museum Ludwig, Dampfzentrale Bern
 

Premiere: Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2019

© Hesem Rahmanian, The Pets We Love, 2018. Courtesy of the artist and Gallery Isabelle van den Eynde.© Orpheas Emirzas© Orpheas Emirzas© Orpheas Emirzas

DANSE/PERFORMANCE/INSTALLATION — « C’est une chose d’être désigné Danseur de l’année, c’en est une autre d’en faire quelque chose. »

Dans le solo de danse Dancer of the Year, nous voyons Trajal Harrell répéter des gestes (comme pour les emmagasiner dans son corps) ; revisiter le matériel et les stratégies chorégraphiques de travaux plus anciens ; et enfin, traverser et stratifier des emotions. Dans un cadre intimiste, il met son travail en partage, offre sa danse, comme s'il nous en faisait cadeau. 

Harrell a créé cette pièce après que lui eût été décerné le titre de danseur de l'année 2018 par le magazine Tanz. Cette consécration a généré une série de questions sur son statut et son identité de danseur. Quel est le cours d'un tel titre ? Quelle est la valeur de la danse, de la pratique de la danse et du savoir qu'elle délivre ? De quoi procède-t-elle ? Comment la danse/le corps métabolise son histoire, et comment celle-ci se transmet-elle pour l'avenir ? Harrell réinvestit son propre héritage en tant que chorégraphe/danseur, de même qu'il interroge et réinvente ssa filiation artistique ainsi que les stratégies qu'il a élaborées au fil des ans pour (re-)présenter et présentifier l'auto/identité. 

L'histoire spéculative de Harrell permet à d'autres corps, identités et voix d'intégrer - et de désintégrer - le narratif conventionnel. Ses opérations révèlent des connexions cachées ou sous-théorisées, transversales aux époques historiques, aux distances géographiques et aux différences culturelles ; et créent des agencements excentriques faisant droit à des histoires de la danse alternatives. Dans son travail au cours, Harrell poursuit sur sa lancée, mais introduit Tatsumi Hijikata et des éléments et des stratégies inspirés par le butô dans son bagage. (...) Ses recherches ont soulevé des questions sur la politique de l'identité performative dans son rapport à « l'autre », sur l'orientalisme et l'appropriation culturelle dans la première danse moderne, ainsi que le lien historique entre la danse, l'exotisme, l'érotisme et la prostitution, pour n'en nommer quelques-uns.

La panoplie de figures, de composants et d'idées prolifère, aboutissant à une trame très dense impossible à filer en un récit linéaire. Chaque pièce se présente comme un origami - feuilleté et fléché par une multitude de plis, de pliures, de traits, érigeant - et exigeant en retour - une pluralité de perspectives, de formats et d'approches. Chaque performance ne constitue qu'une étape dans une constallation d'oeuvres en perpétuelle expansion. Au fil du temps, le project assimile un matériel croissant à l'état d'archive, construisant sa propre histoire et sa propre généalogie. 

Lisez ici le texte de Sara Jansen pour Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2019

contact ART HAPPENS

 

 



DANCER OF THE YEAR SHOP


Dancer of the Year Shop, en apparence, exécute et respecte la hiérarchie des relations économiques et des transactions du marché (de l'art) et reste conforme à son mode capitaliste de circulation et de consommation. Néanmoins, à travers un mode de présentation qui évoque le mobilier d'exposition, Harrell produit volontairemaent de nouvelles significations pour ses objects et la boutique. Il s'attribue non seulement l'autorité du collectionneur, en ayant acquis avec passion certains de ces object, mais il endosse également le rôle de curateur qui les a sélectionnés et en a pris soin avant de les exposer. Ces déplacements se font sous la bannière du Dancer of the Year Shop, simulacre de la galerie.

À travers le processus de détermination du prix des oeuvres présentées dans Dancer of the Year Shop, Trajal Harrell sollicite des mesures quantitatives et qualitatives afin de comprendre la signification de la récompense qui lui a été décernée par le Tanz Magazine. Il souligne à quel point des objets quelconques qui ont une valeur affective et unique pour le chorégraphe et danseur sont, pour cette raison, dotés d'un capital symbolique ajouté à la valeur d'artiste. Quel que soit l'instrument de mesure, une fois que l'oeuvre est vendue, le prix final n'est-il pas déterminé par le poids de sa perte pour l'artiste ? 

Lisez ici le texte de Yasmina Reggad pour Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2019


Les heures du spectacle peuvent être décidées de commun accord.

--------------------------------------------------------------------


« La parfaite communication des émotions, jusqu'au bout des doigts, concrétise un instant de grâce. »
- Le VIF


--------------------------------------------------------------------

CREDITS

Chorégraphie, danse, musique - costumes: Trajal Harrell
Dramaturgie: Sara Jansen
Production: CauseCélèbre vzw
Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Festival d'Automne (Paris), Lafayette Anticipations (Paris), ImPulsTanz Festival, BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen), Schauspielhaus Bochum, Museum Ludwig, Dampfzentrale Bern

Première: Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2019