© Erwan Fichou

The work of artist and stage director Théo Mercier forms a critical inquiry at the intersection of anthropology, ethnography, geopolitics and tourism. Between choreographed performance works and the exploration of diverse materials, he is both a creator and a collector, involved in a rich dialogue of contradictions.

Most of Mercier’s pieces turn on the anthropomorphisation of objects. By producing and collecting such hybridity – polymorphic, polyvocal, ambiguous, of uncertain origin and use – he gives shape to a very distinct exoticism: transcultural, transgeographic and transtemporal.

Between real and imagined anthropology, the artist’s approach is like that of an explorer bringing back objects from real or fictional worlds, as evidence of journeys that may or may not have happened.

Théo Mercier is reviewing the history of mankind and its productions and constantly plays with the confusion, even the loss, of the artist's presence in the creation of a work (a game that also appears in his performance piece Radio Vinci Park).

Steven Michel

Steven Michel (France, 1986) studied mime and circus from an early age, and dance and percussion as a teenager, before settling in Brussels in 2006 for his training at P.A.R.T.S. dance school.

He has worked as an interpreter with choreographers, directors and filmmakers such as David Zambrano, Anouk Van Dijk and Falk Richter, Lukas Dhont, Daniel Linehan and Maud Le Pladec, as well as visual artists Théo Mercier and Sarah&Charles. Since 2012 he has been collaborating with the Belgian choreographer Jan Martens (Sweat Baby Sweat, The Dog Days are Over) and in 2016 he produced They Might Be Giants, a solo that questions the relations between the artificial, the natural, the animate, the inanimate, the immaterial and the monumental.

Steven Michel's goal is to not limit himself to a single discipline or tool, but to experience different roles and approaches, to explore diverse objects and to blur the boundaries between modes of expression, such as: fiction and science; harmony and chaos; the eye and the ear; the analogue and the digital.

© Erwan Fichou

Né en 1984, Théo Mercier étudie à l’École nationale supérieure de création industrielle de Paris (ENSCI) et l’Universität der Künste de Berlin (UDK). Plasticien et metteur en scène, il mène une réflexion située au carrefour de l'anthropologie, de l'ethnographie, de la géopolitique et du tourisme.


Entre mises en scènes chorégraphiées et explorations de la matière, il met en place un échange foisonnant entre passé, présent et futur, animé et inanimé, vrai et faux, artisanal et industriel, profane et sacré, réel et fiction.

La plupart des pièces sont le résultat d'un travail d'anthropomorphisation des objets. En produisant et en collectionnant des objets métissés, polymorphes, plurivoques, ambigus, perdus dans leurs origines et dans leur usage, Théo Mercier donne forme à un exotisme très particulier, transculturel, transgéographique, transtemporel.

Tout comme il aime creuser la plurivocité du statut de ses objets et de ses accrochages, il joue sans cesse sur la confusion, voire la perte, du geste de l'artiste dans l'œuvre, un jeu que l'on retrouve également le travail de mise en scène de son spectacle Radio Vinci Park.

Steven Michel

Steven Michel (France, 1986) a étudié le mime et le cirque dès son plus jeune âge, la danse et la percussion à son adolescence avant de s’installer à Bruxelles en 2006 pour sa formation à l’école de danse P.A.R.T.S. 

Steven a travaillé en tant qu’interprète avec des chorégraphes, metteurs en scène et réalisateurs tels que David Zambrano, Anouk Van Dijk et Falk Richter, Lukas Dhont, Daniel Linehan et Maud Le Pladec, ainsi que les artistes plasticiens Theo Mercier et Sarah&Charles. Depuis 2012 il collabore avec le chorégraphe belge Jan Martens, et en 2016 il crée They Might Be Giants, un solo qui s'interroge sur les rapports entre l'artificiel, le naturel, l'animé, l'inanimé, l'immatériel et le monumental.

Ne pas se limiter à une discipline, ou à un outil, mais changer les rôles et les approches, explorer divers objets et brouiller les frontières entre différents modes d'expression, Steven Michel souhaite continuer à explorer et jouer autour de correspondances qui le suivent dans ses démarches artistiques (comme la science et la fiction, le miniature et le monumental, l'harmonie et le chaos, l'oeil et l'oreille, l'analogue et le digital).