Art Happens

Festival d’Automne à Paris 24-25 & ART HAPPENS

© Festival d'Automne à Paris

After several years of being partners for the work of Trajal Harrell and Alice Ripoll, ART HAPPENS and Festival d’Automne à Paris have decided to take their collaboration to the next level and work together on the distribution of the work of international artists in Europe.

ART HAPPENS and Festival d’Automne à Paris together strengthen the European tours of international artists. For season 2024-2025, we are collaborating with Satoko Ichihara (Japan) for the performance Yoroboshi: The Weakling, Wichaya Artamat (Thailand) for Baan Cult, Muang Cult and Alice Ripoll (Brazil) for Zona Franca with Cia. Suave. Their creations are co-produced by Festival d’Automne and will be presented during their 53d edition.

Satoko Ichihara (Jp)

Yoroboshi: The Weakling (new)

tour dates
© Satoko Ichihara

Yoroboshi: The Weakling – A vibrant, queer puppet show inspired by Japanese bunraku theater is how playwright and director Satoko Ichihara reimagines the ancient legend of the ‘Blind Weakling’ (Shuntokumaru) for the present. While in the original version children are abandoned, sick people are discriminated against and everyone is redeemed in the end, Ichihara’s thinking reaches far beyond this tragic narrative and its simple opposition between good and evil. A cast of sex dolls, mannequins, and other creatures embody humans, their fates, desires, and violence. As narrator (gidayu), actress Sachiko Hara guides us through the story. Experimental musician Kakushin Nishihara combines the traditional sound of the satsuma-biwa, noise, and electronic music to create an extraordinary soundtrack for the piece. Together, they drive the story forward, mediating between worlds and bringing the puppets to life.

tour dates

Wichaya Artamat (Th)

Baan Cult, Muang Cult (new)

© Anna Van Waeg

In front of us are two small apartments. Two women live in one; in the other, two teenage boys spend time together. In both, the same pervasive sound of Thai state radio is heard, alternating between news items, traditional music, propaganda, and advertising. Suddenly, conversations blossom in parallel. The women talk animatedly about the possible ends of their lives. On the other side, the two boys recall watching the 1993 movie Little Buddha at school, the crush they had on Keanu Reeves in that film, and how one of them became sexually excited thinking about Buddha. Wichaya Artamat brings an irreverent take on today’s Thailand, a country where religion, the army, and the monarchy are untouchable pillars of society. After the success of This Song Father Used to Sing (2019), Artamat returns to naturalistic theatre that employs subtle acting, everyday gestures, and small details. It’s a cinematic style that places us inside two apartments in Bangkok, using satire to go beyond a simple story and express what cannot be expressed openly. With poetry, tenderness, and comedy, Baan Cult, Muang Cult (The Cult of the Home, The One of the Nation) is an unexpected exploration of Thailand’s social structure as a cult.

© Renato Mangolin

Cia. Suave – Freedom is the central theme in Zona Franca, a dance performance weaving together contact dance, TikTok, Afro-house and passinho.
Brazilian dance group Cia Suave and Alice Ripoll wrestle with questions of freedom in a piece connecting popular dance styles from Brazil, including passinho.
This piece considers the crossroads: how much is it possible to choose your path? How much can an artistic encounter change the course of a life? And what happens when a society chooses barbarism and war, and the individual finds themselves powerless? Are we really making our personal choices.

More info

INFO
DatePerformanceArtistCity CountryOrganisation/Venue
07.11.2024Yoroboshi: The WeaklingSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
08.11.2024Yoroboshi: The WeaklingSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
09.11.2024Yoroboshi: The WeaklingSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
10.11.2024Yoroboshi: The WeaklingSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
11.11.2024Yoroboshi: The WeaklingSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
15.11.2024Yoroboshi: The Weakling (option)Satoko Ichihara (jp)Antwerp (be)DE SINGEL
16.11.2024Yoroboshi: The Weakling (option)Satoko Ichihara (jp)Antwerp (be)DE SINGEL

Art Happens

Festival d’Automne à Paris 24-25 & ART HAPPENS

© Festival d'Automne à Paris

Après plusieurs années de partenariat pour le travail de Trajal Harrell et d’Alice Ripoll, ART HAPPENS et le Festival d’Automne à Paris ont décidé d’aller plus loin dans leur collaboration et de travailler ensemble à la diffusion du travail d’artistes internationaux en Europe.

ART HAPPENS et le Festival d’Automne à Paris renforcent ensemble les tournées européennes d’artistes internationaux. Pour la saison 2024-2025, nous collaborons avec Satoko Ichihara (Japon) pour le spectacle Yoroboshi: The Weakling, Wichaya Artamat (Thaïlande) pour Baan Cult, Muang Cult et Alice Ripoll (Brésil) pour Zona Franca avec Cia. Suave. Leurs créations sont coproduites par le Festival d’Automne et seront présentées lors de sa 53ème édition.

Satoko Ichihara (Jp)

Yoroboshi : Le Faible (new)

dates de tournée
© Satoko Ichihara

Yoroboshi : Le Faible – Au travers d’un spectacle de marionnettes queer et vivant, inspiré du théâtre japonais bunraku, la dramaturge et metteuse en scène Satoko Ichihara revisite l’ancienne légende de “L’Aveugle vulnérable” (Shuntokumaru). Dans la version originale, les enfants sont abandonnés, les malades discriminés mais tout le monde est sauvé à la fin. Ici, la pensée d’Ichihara va bien au-delà de cette histoire tragique et de la simple opposition entre le bien et le mal. Une troupe de poupées gonflables, de mannequins de vitrines et d’autres créatures incarnent des êtres humains avec leur destin, leurs désirs et leur violence. L’actrice Sachiko Hara nous guide à travers l’histoire en tant que conteuse (gidayu). Le musicien expérimental Kakushin Nishihara combine le son traditionnel du satsuma-biwa avec le son et la musique électronique pour créer une bande sonore extraordinaire qui accompagne le spectacle. Ensemble, ils font avancer l’histoire, servant de médiateurs entre les univers et donnant vie aux marionnettes.

dates de tournée

Wichaya Artamat (Th)

Baan Cult, Muang Cult (new)

© Anna Van Waeg

Devant nous, deux petits appartements : deux femmes occupent l’un, deux adolescents passent du temps ensemble dans l’autre. La même radio d’état thaïlandaise omniprésente y diffuse alternativement informations, musique traditionnelle, propagande et publicités. Soudainement, les conversations fusent des deux côtés : les femmes parlent de manière animée de leur fin de vie, alors que les garçons se remémorent le film Little Buddha de 1993 visionné à l’école, leur béguin ressenti pour Keanu Reeves dans ce film et comment, rentré chez lui, l’un d’eux s’était senti sexuellement attiré par Bouddha. Wichaya Artamat porte un projet irrévérencieux sur la Thaïlande contemporaine où religion, armée et monarchie sont intouchables. Après le succès de This Song Father Used to Sing (2019), Artamat renoue avec un théâtre naturaliste tout en jeu subtil, gestes quotidiens et petits détails. En nous plongeant dans une perception presque cinématographique de deux appartements de Bangkok, il dépasse le simple récit pour exprimer satiriquement ce qui ne peut l’être ouvertement. Avec poésie, tendresse et moments comiques, Baan Cult, Muang Cult (le culte de la Maison, celui de la Nation) est une exploration inattendue du culte de la structure sociale thaïlandaise.

© Renato Mangolin

Cia. Suave – Alice Ripoll et Cia. Suave ont créé un espace de quête de liberté, à la fois celle des artistes interprètes et celle du public. Une autre zone franche, plus sombre celle-là, semble se répandre dans l’économie mondiale. Zona Franca utilise des éléments rituels tels que la transe et le vertige, provoqué par les tambours. La nouvelle création poursuit le travail de recherche mené par le groupe dans les spectacles précédents, Suave et Cria, sur le rapport entre les danses urbaines et populaires au Brésil et la mise en scène contemporaine. Ils se posent la question “Quelles voix portent ces danses, que pouvons-nous exprimer à travers elles ? Au-delà de “Passinho”, cette création présente des éléments de danse contact, de théâtre, de recherche vocale, d’Afro house, Sabala, Tiktok, et des danses du nord et nord-est du Brésil, telles que Pisadinha et Brega Funk.

More info

INFO
DateSpectacleArtisteVille PaysOrganisation/Lieu
07.11.2024Yoroboshi : Le FaibleSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
08.11.2024Yoroboshi : Le FaibleSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
09.11.2024Yoroboshi : Le FaibleSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
10.11.2024Yoroboshi : Le FaibleSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
11.11.2024Yoroboshi : Le FaibleSatoko Ichihara (jp)Paris (fr)Festival d'Automne à Paris/Théâtre de Gennevilliers
15.11.2024Yoroboshi : Le Faible (option)Satoko Ichihara (jp)Antwerp (be)DE SINGEL
16.11.2024Yoroboshi : Le Faible (option)Satoko Ichihara (jp)Antwerp (be)DE SINGEL