Art Happens

Festival d’Automne à Paris 23-24 & ART HAPPENS

After several years of being partners for the work of Trajal Harrell and Alice Ripoll, ART HAPPENS and Festival d’Automne à Paris have decided to take their collaboration to the next level and work together on the distribution of the work of international artists in Europe.

ART HAPPENS and Festival d’Automne à Paris together strengthen the European tours of international artists. For season 2023-2024, we are collaborating with Mariano Pensotti (Argentina) for the performance La Orba and Alice Ripoll (Brazil) for her new creation with Cia. Sauve. Their creations are co-produced by Festival d’Automne and will be presented during their 52nd edition.

Mariano Pensotti (Ar)

La Obra (new)

La Obra or The Play is based on the story of Simon Frank, a Polish Jew who was captured during WWII. After the war, he arrived in Coronel Sivori, a village in Argentina, where he reconstructed his house from Poland. Not to live in, but to serve as scenery for a play. He kept on expanding this scenery, reminiscent of places in Warsaw and little by little, at Frank’s request, the neighbors began to participate in it. Some as secondary actors, others as set designers or technicians. He was incorporating the inhabitants of the town in different roles of people linked to his past. The play was presented each year on his birthday and it became famous in the area. But then after almost 40 years he was arrested, because it turned out that Simon Frank died during the war in a concentration camp and the man was actually Jürgen Richter, a German soldier. For La Obra, European theater director Walid Mansour, convinced inhabitants of the Argentinian village to tell their story about their experience and how it affected their lives. They all remember the play and the experience, with which they have a conflictive relationship, in a slightly different way. Walid Mansour himself is also present on stage. He reflects with a sporadic voiceover about his own experience of being raised during a context of a civil war, in a narration that reproduces the one in the play about Simon Frank.

Cia. Suave – Alice Ripoll and Cia. Suave make a new creation that questions the political situation in Brazil. The idea of this creation comes from the desire to save the ritual that art once was. Art should be democratic. Art should create a space where everyone is treated as an equal and where everyone can perform and experience warm rituals. In Brazil, however, these rituals have lost their space to hopelessness, the absence of government policy, television, religion and the transformation of art into an elitist merchandise. These ideas and concepts have now gained power, reached the presidency of Brazil and have world domination as their goal.

 

More info

INFO
DatePerformanceArtistCity CountryOrganisation/Venue

Art Happens

Festival d’Automne à Paris 23-24 & ART HAPPENS

Après plusieurs années de partenariat pour le travail de Trajal Harrell et d’Alice Ripoll, ART HAPPENS et le Festival d’Automne à Paris ont décidé d’aller plus loin dans leur collaboration et de travailler ensemble à la diffusion du travail d’artistes internationaux en Europe.

ART HAPPENS et le Festival d’Automne à Paris renforcent ensemble les tournées européennes d’artistes internationaux. Pour la saison 2022-2023, nous collaborons avec Mariano Pensotti (Argentine) pour le spectacle La Obra et Alice Ripoll (Brésil) pour sa nouvelle création avec Cia. Sauve. Leurs créations sont coproduites par le Festival d’Automne et seront présentées lors de sa 52ème édition.

Mariano Pensotti (Ar)

La Obra (new)

La Obra ou La Pièce de théâtre est basée sur l’histoire de Simon Frank, un Juif polonais prisonnier pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Après la guerre, il est arrivé à Coronel Sivori, un village d’Argentine, où il a reconstitué sa maison de Pologne. Non pas pour y vivre, mais pour servir de décor à une pièce de théâtre. Il n’a cessé d’agrandir ce décor, qui rappelle des lieux de Varsovie, et peu à peu, à la demande de Frank, les voisins ont commencé à y participer. Certains comme acteurs secondaires, d’autres comme décorateurs ou techniciens. Il donnait aux habitants de la ville les différents rôles de personnes liées à son passé. La pièce était présentée chaque année le jour de son anniversaire et elle est devenue célèbre dans la région. Mais après presque 40 ans, il est arrêté, car il s’avère que Simon Frank était mort pendant la guerre dans un camp de concentration. L’’homme était en fait Jürgen Richter, un soldat allemand. Pour La Obra, le metteur en scène de théâtre européen Walid Mansour a convaincu les habitants du village argentin de raconter leur expérience et la façon dont elle a affecté leur vie. Tous se souviennent de la pièce et de cette expérience, avec laquelle ils entretiennent une relation conflictuelle, d’une manière légèrement différente. Walid Mansour lui-même est également présent sur scène. Il évoque, par une voix off sporadique, sa propre expérience d’enfance dans un contexte de guerre civile, dans une narration qui reproduit celle de la pièce consacrée Simon Frank.

Cia. Suave – Alice Ripoll et Cia . Suave crée un nouveau spectacle qui interroge les conditions politiques au Brésil. L’idée de cette création vient du désir de sauver le rituel qu’était autrefois l’art. L’art est censé être démocratique. L’art doit créer un espace où chacun est traité sur un pied d’égalité et où chacun peut accomplir et vivre des rituels pleins de vie. Au Brésil, cependant, ces rituels ont perdu leur place au profit du désespoir, de l’absence de politique publique, de la télévision, de la religion et de la transformation de l’art en un produit de vente élitiste. Ces idées et concepts ont maintenant gagné en puissance. Ils ont atteint la présidence du Brésil et ont pour objectif la conquête du monde.

More info

INFO
DateSpectacleArtisteVille PaysOrganisation/Lieu